UQAM - Université du Québec à Montréal
Evening Language Training

NEW

Evening Language Course : English Pronunciation. *Course reserved to speakers who master the abc of conversation.

From January 31st to April 4th, 2018. Wednesday, from 6:30 PM to 9:00 PM.

Click here for more informations.


Non-credit Evening Language Courses at UQAM

Literacy Competencie Levels

The adopted literacy assessment scale was developed in accordance with the works of a committee composed of nationally recognized academics, practioners and administrators. (OECD, Statistics Canada. La littéracie un atout pour la vie: Nouveaux résultats de l’Enquête sur la littératie et les compétences des adultes. OECD Editions, 2011, 401 p.)

Pre-level 1 :

Participants only use basic vocabulary and are able to read short texts on familiar topics in order to find accurate information. Texts rarely include contradictory information. Moreover, at this level, the reader does not need to understand the structure of sentences or paragraphs, or to use other characteristics of the text.

Example of task that participant can do at this level:

To locate, in a short and continuous text, identical information as that given in the question

Level 1 :

Participants are able to read relatively short texts (continuous, non-continuous or mixed*) in order to find information which is identical or synonymous with the information given in the question or instruction. The knowledge and skills tested are the recognition of the basic vocabulary determining the meaning of the sentences as well as the whole text.

Example of task that participant can do at this level:

To fill out a simple form

Level 2 :

Participants are able to integrate at least two (2) pieces of information according to the given criteria, to compare them, to put them in opposition or to reflect on them, and to make simple inferences. Participants are able to browse through a text to locate information in different parts of a document.

Example of task that participant can do at this level:

To find an event organizer’s phone number

Level 3 :

Participant are able to understand dense or long texts, including pages of continuous, non-continuous, mixed or multiple* texts. They can identify, interpret or evaluate one or more information and make a variety of inferences. Participants can also perform multi-step operations and select data in contradictory statements to find and formulate responses. To succeed at this level, it is essential to understand the textual and rhetorical structures, and in particular to browse through complex texts.

Example of task that participant can do at this level:

To select informations that are off topic from those that are appropriate to provide the correct answer

Level 4 :

Participants are able to perform multi-step operations to integrate, interpret or summarize information from long, complex, continuous, non-continuous, and mixed or multiple* texts, sometimes with conflicting information. Participants are able to make complex inferences and properly use their knowledge. Many tasks require identifying and understanding one or more specific secondary ideas in order to interpret subtle assertions or arguments.

Example of task that participant can do at this level:

To interprete and evaluate assertions within a discourse

Level 5 :

Participants are able to find and integrate information from multiple dense texts, synthesize similar or contrary ideas, or evaluate evidence-based arguments. They are capable of making hight-level inferences and using their specific knowledge. Participants can apply and evaluate logical and conceptual models to accomplish tasks.

Example of task that participant can do at this level:

To select key information and assess the reliability of information sources

* " Mixed or multiple texts " means texts written in different semiotic forms (e.g: literary texts, speeches, video clips, slide shows [PowerPoint], etc.).



Back to homepage
UQAM - Université du Québec à Montréal  ›  Last update : August 01, 2013

UQAM - Université du Québec à Montréal
Cours du soir en langues spécialisées

Cours du soir non crédités en langues spécialisées

Niveaux de compétence en littératie

L'échelle d'évaluation en littératie adoptée a été conçue à partir des travaux d'un comité composé d'universitaires, de praticiens et d'administrateurs reconnus à l'échelle nationale canadienne. (OCDE, Statistique Canada. La littératie, un atout pour la vie: Nouveaux résultats de l'Enquête sur la littératie et les compétences des adultes. Éditions OCDE, 2011, 401 p.)

Pré-niveau 1 :

Le participant utilise exclusivement un vocabulaire de base et est capable de lire de courts textes sur des sujets familiers afin de trouver une information précise. Les textes comprennent rarement des informations contradictoires. De plus, à ce niveau, il n'est pas requis que le lecteur comprenne la structure des phrases ou des paragraphes, ou qu'il utilise d'autres caractéristiques du texte.

Exemple de tâches que le participant peut accomplir à ce niveau:

Situer dans un texte court et continu une information identique à celle mentionnée dans une question

Niveau 1 :

Le participant est capable de lire des textes continus, non continus ou mixtes* relativement courts afin de trouver une information identique ou synonyme à l'information donnée dans la question ou la consigne. Les connaissances et les compétences évaluées sont la reconnaissance du vocabulaire de base déterminant le sens des phrases ainsi que la lecture du texte.

Exemple de tâches que le participant peut accomplir à ce niveau:

Remplir un formulaire simple

Niveau 2 :

Le participant est en mesure d'intégrer au moins deux (2) informations en fonction de critères donnés, de les comparer, de les mettre en opposition ou d'engager une réflexion à leur sujet, et d'opérer des inférences simples. Le participant est capable de parcourir des textes afin de repérer des informations dans différentes parties d'un document.

Exemple de tâches que le participant peut accomplir à ce niveau:

Trouver le numéro de téléphone de l'organisateur d'un événement sur une page Web

Niveau 3 :

Le participant est en mesure de comprendre des textes denses ou longs, incluant des pages de textes continus, non continus mixtes ou multiples*. Il est habile à identifier, interpréter ou évaluer une ou plusieurs informations et à réaliser des inférences justes et variées. Le participant peut également effectuer des opérations à étapes multiples et sélectionner des données dans des énoncés contradictoires afin de trouver et de formuler des réponses. Pour réussir les tâches à ce niveau, il est essentiel de comprendre les structures textuelles et rhétoriques, et notamment d'être à l'aise de parcourir des textes complexes.

Exemple de tâches que le participant peut accomplir à ce niveau:

Isoler des informations qui sont hors sujet de celles qui sont correctes pour fournir la bonne réponse

Niveau 4 :

Le participant est capable d'effectuer des opérations à étapes multiples pour intégrer, interpréter ou résumer des informations tirées de textes longs et complexes, continus, non continus, mixtes ou multiples*, comprenant parfois des informations contradictoires. Le participant est capable de réaliser des inférences complexes en utilisant ses connaissances de façon appropriée. De nombreuses tâches demandent d'identifier et de comprendre une ou plusieurs idées secondaires précises afin d'interpréter de subtiles affirmations et argumentaires.

Exemple de tâches que le participant peut accomplir à ce niveau:

Interpréter et évaluer des affirmations au sein d'un discours

Niveau 5 :

Le participant est en mesure de trouver et d'intégrer de l'information provenant de plusieurs textes denses, de synthétiser des idées semblables ou contraires, ou d'évaluer des arguments basés sur des faits. Il est capable de réaliser des inférences de haut niveau et d'utiliser ses connaissances spécifiques. Le participant est habile à appliquer et à évaluer des modèles logiques et conceptuels afin d'accomplir des tâches.

Exemple de tâches que le participant peut accomplir à ce niveau:

Sélectionner des informations clés et évaluer la fiabilité des sources d'information

* Par « textes mixtes ou multiples », il est entendu des textes rédigés sous différentes formes sémiotiques (ex. textes littéraires, discours, extraits vidéos, diaporamas [PowerPoint], etc.).



« Retour à la liste de formations
UQAM - Université du Québec à Montréal  ›  Mise à jour : 1 août 2013